Dream job … just a dream 

Hi there. I normally try to keep my blog really positive. I want to improve people’s days, but this post isn’t like this. Just a little warning that this is a huge ramble about broken dreams. Love, Glücksgeist.

I had a job interview for one of my dream jobs yesterday. I’ve actually went there for the second time. The first time they didn’t choose me so I wrote them after a month with a different email for the second time. They didn’t realise that it was me and I went again to a little job interview.

This time I felt so much more prepared and confident and I felt like I can rock this. But two days before my interview, I was so upset and anxious. I couldn’t sleep, I woke up in the middle of the night feeling so sick. The next day I was convinced that I am so sick, nearly too sick to go there. But I went and this time it was amazing. I got to know two amazing girls and we chatted before and after the interview. We laughed so much and I just thought working with these two is going to be so amazing.

Next day I got an email, they choosed someone else….. But they wrote to my first email not the second one for which I was invited again. So maybe they just realized it was me but on the other hand I think writing their for the second time and going to the interview with all your confidence should show how much you want that job. This was the first job I actually wanted. 

I had a few jobs before but I didn’t want to have any of these. Going to work wasn’t so much fun, I just did it because I had to. And it involved a lot of crying if I am completely honest with you.

But failing for your dream job is shit! ( I’ve never used that sort of language…. But shit shit shit). I felt horrible today and just like I couldn’t do anything, I felt like a completely loser. And immediately I felt more sick and upset. 

My amazing mum then convinced me to go outside and to go to the hairdresser with her and my little sister. I first really didn’t want to go outside but now I am so happy I did it. I feel so much better in my new hair and much more happier as in the morning, but yeah, I am just diappotinted. 

The job wasn’t supposed to be a life time job, it was a little job but still, it sucks.

I never talk about something like this on my blog. I want to keep it positive and happy but at the same time I sometimes feel like you don’t really know much about me. So I wanted to share this. I hope your day was amazing!! And if not tomorrow is going to be so much better!

Also a massive thank you for Bea for surprising me with The Get to know Glücksgeist post. She told me that she’s going to upload it a little bit later but then decided to upload it on Monday. This really made me so much happier and gave me so much strength and I just felt so much better on the way to my interview. You are truly amazing Bea! And I am so happy you passed your test.

Thank you Cheila for making me smile with each of your comment. Thank you Abigail for your nice words under my interview with Bea. I love you guys.

Also a massive thank you to everyone who recently commented on my blog. To everyone who wrote that they liked my posts. I really needed it and I really appreciate it, thank you! 

Love, Glücksgeist 

35 thoughts on “Dream job … just a dream 

  1. I am so sorry to hear this but don’t give up! What field of work are you wanting to do? I am going through something similar, too. I do not have a degree but a passion for Interior Design and it is SO HARD to break into the business, but I have decided to never give up. Look at Bea! She didn’t give up and passed her test. And it’s ok to vent and have a bad day, but what I love is how positive you actually are with out knowing it!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Oh thank you so so much! I want to study in a few months, so this job was just to earn some money. I am a huge musical fan and the job was to work at the musical and serve drinks, go backstage and stuff like this…. so it would have been so cool, but yeah.
      Oh I hate to hear that, But I keep my fingers crossed that it will work soon. I love how passionate you are! You truly going to make it, I really think so.
      Thank you so much for commenting, this was so amazing of you! Xx

      Liked by 1 person

    • That is so right, I really didn’t give up, even when I felt like the whole world was against me and I felt like this test was always one step ahead of me, I powered through, just as you will too Jennie, you will get that job one day keep going!Glücksgeist , the same goes for you!

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Disappointment is normal but hard to deal with. I know how you feel, when I finished uni in 2015 I applied for 8 jobs, only got interviews for 3 and was gutted to be in the final 14 for 4 jobs at London aquarium. Just keep at it you’ll get where you want eventually, just sometimes the path isn’t the one we’d like or hope, you just might have to go a really long way there 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh no, when I emailed you yesterday telling you I was going to move up your post you seemed so excited, so happy, so thrilled. You mentioned to me that you were going on an interview and I wished you the best of luck and I certainty meant it. I’m sorry things didn’t go to plan. I can say to you though that sometimes in life things don’t go to plan. You can see that from, I took my Praxis 7 times before I got it right on that 8th. That’s 8 times of taking an exam that is considered to be very difficult, but as they say “fall down seven times, stand up eight.” You have to keep going, you have to keep striding. I love that you had the confidence you did going in. I want and hope that you keep that confidence moving forward. Do what you can to keep that confidence up. So what they didn’t choose you for this position, it only means there is something much much bigger and better out there in the world waiting for you to find it. Keep your head up. You will get your dream job. You aren’t a failure. You will never be a failure so long as you never give up on you and your dreams. Keep going. You can do this. I believe in you. Don’t give up, never give up. Thank you so much for sharing your story. I know that being positive is wonderful and all but sometimes sharing your struggles with the world is just as important as sharing your positivity. I wish you the best of luck. Have a wonderful day, week, month, year!!! x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much Bea ❤ this really made my eyes water a bit… I am definitely not going to give up. This was so amazing to read, thank you so much for your nice and strong words. ❤

      You are one of the kindest and amazing bloggers! Thank you!

      And I am so so proud that you passed this test!! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I am so so so sorry. 😦 Although I’m only 13 and have never had a job, I totally understand the feeling of not being able to do anything. It really is absolutely terrible and I’m so sorry. But bad things always happen for a reason, so I hope that something extremely good will come out of this. If you try to get this job again, best of luck, because you are such a hardworking person and you really deserve it.

    And if you ever feel like you can’t do anything, I just want to let you know that you’re such an amazing person. I am always amazed by your baking and DIY talents and how you’re always so positive.

    I hope that you have a fantastic day, and I’m sorry that this comment got long haha.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Aw so sorry girl! I totally feel ya since this happened to me recently as well! I understand that its really disappointing but this is just a first step. Just take it as an expreience and to improve yourself each time so that you feel more confident the next time. Dw, you have a long way to go and a lot more interviews to attend so you will totally be fine 🙂 It happens to each and every person but don’t give up and just work on improving your skills and strengths/weaknesses since everything takes time and patience! I’m sure you will def get that dream job someday, think postively and keep working hard ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  6. | a s h | says:

    If you don’t get something you wish it simply means your saving yourself for better things. Remember, when one door closes, one door opens. 😊✨

    Liked by 1 person

  7. First of all, I am so so sorry. I think it’s good that you blogged about your experience. It’s nice to just write everything down what you are feeling right now, it makes you feel better afterwards 🙂
    Not getting the job doesn’t mean you’re a failure or that you’re never going to get another job. You will not stay in that moment of sadness forever and amazing things will happen soon. Don’t give up and Kopf hoch! ❤ xx Friederike

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Oh… That sucks indeed… I had similar experiences. With time I noticed that the more I care about the job, the smaller chances I will get it. And so when I went for an interview to my current dream job, I totally didnt belive there is a chance I will get it. During interview I was kinda like giving into this failure I predicted and so I felt relaxed and like I-dont-give-a-damn. Being aware that I wont get it anyway, there was nothing to feel stressed about. Surprisingly as it sounds they hired me… Later on my manager told me he, liked this laid back approach, cos he wanted chilled and relaxed person in his team… Well, long story short, what I wanted to say is dont give up cos if I got my dream job, you will also get yours. For a time being to sending you positive vibes to keep you motivated ❤❤❤

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I believe everything happens for a reason. I have interviewed for jobs in the past which i really, really wanted but didn’t get so was devastated, but then something even better always comes along. Keep your chin up and look for that next, even better opportunity because it will come 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I’m sorry I only got to this now, beautiful!! I’m so sorry you didn’t get the job you wanted, I’m sending big hugs to comfort you. I would have hired you without a doubt for any job, because you are that amazing!! It’s their loss. You’re going to find another perfect job and those guys will never have you! Can you see how much they’re losing?? Keep being so sweet and creative and amazing!! We all love you and your blog and you are here to support you, so never feel bad because you have to write something less positive. We’re your blogging family, girl! I hope you’re feeling better by today! xo

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I just thought to let you know that the blogging world is here for you (as you can hopefully see from all these comments)! And you might have not succeeded the second time but you are such a lovely person and I know you will succeed eventually (third times the charm?) even if it’s not in that job!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

