Allgemein · baking · christmas

Zimtsterne

I baked them last year for the first time and I have to say that I fall completely in love with them. They are definitely one of my favorite Christmas cookies.

So of course I had to bake them this year again. I enjoy baking so much at Tehran moment after a little break. I am so happy to be back. 

I also want to dedicate this post to my best friend, my Glücksgeist. Today, on the 6th of December (as I am writing this), it is not only St. Nicholas’ Day, it’s also our friend anniversary. I know her for nearly my whole life, 15 years now. She helped me going threw so much and always was there when I needed her. I love her so much and can’t imagine a life without her.

Glücksgeist, wenn du das liest alles liebe nochmal nachträglich zu unserem Jahrestag. ❤ Ich hab dich lieb. ❤

So for the cookies you will need:

  • 4 eggs (+1 , 2 For The topping)
  • 250 grams of icing sugar ( + topping)
  • 8 grams of vanilla sugar 
  • 1 tsp cinnamon 
  • 400 grams of grounded almonds 

Separate the egg yolks and egg whites. You will only need the egg whites for this recipe.

Whisk the egg whites until they are super stiff and won’t move anymore.

Add the (sifted !! much easier) icing sugar and fold it carefully into the mixture.

After that add half of the grounded almonds and mix.

Then you need to add the rest of the almonds until the mixture doesn’t feel sticky anymore (don’t you worry, if it still feels a bit sticky just add a bit of flour to the mixture when you’re rolling it out.)

Add a lot of flour onto a surface and roll the dough out.

Then cut with a star cookie cutter stars out. 

Put the stars on a baking sheet. 

Then it’s time for the topping:

Whisk the egg (s) until they are completely stiff. Then add bit by bit some icing sugar until it gets a sort of icing consistency.

With a spoon (or pipping bag if you want to be fancy) Add a bit from the mixture on top of every star.

Bake the cookies for 25 minutes at 120 degrees Celsius. 

And then enjoy.

Leave a Reply

